Animal Spirit Guides


Animals and humans inhabit the physical world together; therefore, they must also exist in the spirit world together. The spirit world is comprised of spirit guides, angels, archangels, ascended masters, departed loved ones and animal spirit guides or totems. All of these beings help, protect, educate, heal and inspire you along your life path journey. In Shamanism, the world’s oldest healing tradition, the animal guides are known as power animals. Shaman practitioners receive a specific animal spirit guide from the spirit world that travels with them to offer insight, guidance and help them with their duties. They honor the wisdom and knowledge that each different animal imparts. In Native American cultures, spirit animals are also commonly called animal totems. Both the animal totem and power animal are considered spirit guides.


You do not have to be a shaman to access the animal spirit guides in your life. Animal spirits serve as your guide and come into your life for a purpose; however, they choose you, you do not choose them. Animal spirit guides can also be represented by symbols or can simply be those animals that you have always felt a connection to throughout your life.


The animal spirit guides are grouped by their habitats as they were on earth. The land animal spirit guides represent your physical and emotional grounding and are linked to intuition and vigilance. Bird animal spirit guides are symbolic of your strengths, desire for freedom and represent harmony with other creatures. They also assist you in obtaining a higher consciousness. Water animal spirit guides connect you to your spirituality and reveal to you your innermost desires and fears. The reptile spirit animals help with how you see yourself both internally and externally. They give you the ability to adapt more readily to changes in your surroundings and to be independent. The insect spirit animals help you with persistence and determination and will guide you toward patience and the ability to be objective.


There are four types of animal guides: messenger, journey, life and shadow.


Messenger spirit guide: This guide usually appears in order to guide or warn of a specific situation, and stays with you until the message is received and the warning is heeded.

Journey spirit guide: This guide is known to appear when you come to a fork in the road or when a decision is needed in order to change the course of your path in life. This animal remains at your side until your journey is complete. The journey can take days, months or even years.

Life spirit guide: This guide stays with you throughout your life and is a reflection of who and what you are and your spiritual makeup. You will be reminded by your guide of your strengths and innermost abilities. You may even have more than one life guide. Your life animal guide may be a type of animal that you had an affinity for as a small child, one that you find is around you frequently or one that you often dream about.

Shadow spirit guide: This is the one that tests you. At first, it will most likely instill fear. This guide comes into your life to teach lessons about those areas that need changing. It represents your inner fears and will keep reappearing until positive changes are made.


When you connect with your animal spirit guides, keep in mind their survival and predatory characteristics. These characteristics will help you to grow, make decisions and determine the path of your life.


To learn about Bird Totems, click here.

To learn about Mammal Totems, click here.

To learn about Insect Totems, click here.

To learn about Reptile Totems, click here.

For a guided meditation to meet your animal totem(s), click here.



For an Animal Spirit Guide reading, visit the Oracle Room.


To learn more about spirit guides, angels and archangels and how to connect with them,
visit the Angel Room.


Click Here


Join our FB Fan page!